Warwickshire Schools Library Service

WTBA Previous Winners

We are very proud of our three Warwickshire Book Awards, which we run annually. Our trained and experienced library team carefully select the shortlisted books. Pupils/students read these books and vote for their favourite. The winner is decided solely by them, and we think this makes our Awards special! Schools from across Warwickshire take part and are invited to the Final Award Ceremony for two of the Awards (WJBA and WSBA), where we invite the shortlisted authors to attend. This is always a lovely event and a fantastic celebration of reading that we hope inspires young people across Warwickshire.

The Awards are aimed at the following year groups:

  • Warwickshire Junior Book Award (WJBA): Years 5/6 (Summer Term)
  • Warwickshire Secondary Book Award (WSBA): Years 7/8 (Spring Term)
  • Warwickshire Teen Book Award (WTBA): Year 9 (Autumn Term)

If you would like more information about them, please get in touch with us at: schoolslibraryservice@warwickshire.gov.uk

See Below for our previous Award Winners:

Warwickshire Teen Book Award

2022 Winner: The Outlaws Scarlett & Browne by Jonathan Stroud

Ace of Spades by Faridah Abike-lyimide

The Upper World by Femi Fadugba

Hotel Magnifique by Emily J. Taylor

2021 Winner: The Island by C.L.Taylor

Boy I Am by K.L. Kettle

One in a Hundred Thousand by Linni Ingemundsen

Wrecked by Louisa Reid

2020 Winner: That Asian Kid by Savita Kalhan
Summerland by Lucy Adlington 
Bearmouth by Liz Hyder  
Run Rebel by Manjeet Mann

2019 Winner: The Truth About Lies by Tracy Darnton

The Twisted Tree by Rachel Burge

Killer T by Robert Muchamore

The Survival Game by Nicky Singer


No comments have been left for this article

Have your say...

Your name will be published alongside your comment but we will not publish your email address.

All comments will be reviewed by a moderator before being published.

Please ensure you complete all fields marked as mandatory.